Monash University Publishing | Contacts Page
Monash University Publishing: Advancing knowledge

Making Them Indonesians: Child Transfers out of East Timor

Appendix IV. Chronology


Indonesia declared its independence from The Netherlands.


After an anti-communist pogrom, Suharto seized power from the first president, Sukarno, and established the New Order.


Indonesia launched large-scale invasion of East Timor in Dili.


East Timor declared the 27th province of Indonesia.

Mar 1979

Fretilin was defeated as a fighting force. (Several years later, under the leadership of Xanana Gusmão, the resistance regrouped as an umbrella organisation with Falintil as its fighting wing.)


Santa Cruz massacre in Dili left up to 270 dead and 200 missing, mostly young people. Publicity of the incident helped to galvanise international support for East Timor’s struggle.


Suharto forced to resign as President of Indonesia.


The people of East Timor voted against an autonomy option offered by Indonesia.


UNTAET established to administer the territory.


The territory became the independent nation of Timor-Leste.

Cite this chapter as: van Klinken, Helene. 2011. Appendix IV: 'Chronology'. In Making Them Indonesians: Child Transfers out of East Timor. Melbourne: Monash University Publishing. Page. 186.

Making Them Indonesians: Child Transfers out of East Timor

   by Helene van Klinken